Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
Claire's stories
24 octobre 2008

blue screen (on the tune of "blue moon")

My offfice, this morning, 11:00.

Computer guy: oooOOOooooh, you have a blue screen. That's not good.
He looks at me and looks concerned at the same time.
Computer guy: do you have any important data on your C or D-drive?
We look at each other and we both start to laugh (he is a nice guy, and it is always him who comes to help me).
me: I don't think I saved anything important since last time. Maybe a letter to the administration, that's all. Nothing worth caring for.
computer guy: well, I'll take it with me then. This is no good. This time it must be the hardware. The drives. Or the motherboard.
me (hopefull): maybe both?
computer guy (before leaving): I will call DELL. There is still a warranty on it, it's less than a year old for sure! (he looks very pleased about that).

Today, like everyday, I worked with my personal laptop. Since I had to stay at university (had meetings, so couldn't go home), I really did miss my desktop. Damn, I couln't check my emails! (my laptop is not allowed to be connected on the network of the university).
Let's look at the bright side however: yesterday I got a mail saying the ICT department found the note lost by the F&C department about the laptop I should get from University. That's progress.
For those who are curious: ICT = computer department and F&C = financial department. Took me also some time to find out...

On a blue note: by coincidence today is the 50th anniversary of the smurfs/schtroumpfs. Happy birthday!

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
Publicité