Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
Claire's stories
27 septembre 2008

Sharpened almonds

The past two days, I was in Vannes, a nice old medieval city in Brittany, for a symposium. It was a small symposium (10 people), but extremely cozy and well organized. The person who was picking us (a belgian professor and myself) up from the station welcomed us the french way (with cheerfull greetings and kisses on both cheeks) and told us she had booked a very good restaurant for tonight (famous for its wines), and that tomorrow we would have a fish restaurant at noon and a crêperie for diner. As you can imagine, we immediately felt at ease. The hotel was very good too, and at walking distance from the very-good-wine-restaurant (which indeed, had very good wines).
Yesterday night, I was examining the menu of our last crêperie, and as I was looking at the english version, I got puzzled by one of the offers: "Galette with cutter sirup". I looked at the french version: "Galette au sirop de fraise". Now, for those who do not know french: "fraise" is "strawberry" in english, ... but can also mean "cutter". As if it was not cut(e) enough, I ploughed through the rest of the english menu and found "sharpened almonds" (fr: amandes effilées) which should have been "flaked almonds", and even "Grand Marnier" was translated by "Large Marnier"... No, I am not going to say anything about french people speaking english, ha!

amandes
"sharpened almonds"

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
Publicité