Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
Claire's stories
27 avril 2009

410

I didn't see the movie "300" but I read somewhere it is about a war involving 300 soldiers. Well, I had 410. Not soldiers, but students. 410 students fought against the examination I created for them, and I really thought it would be easy (for them). Not for me, alas, as I had to correct the whole bunch of papers. After some cries of protest, I managed to get 6 volunteers who enthusiastically corrected the bunch with me. Today I filled-in the 410 grades on the university grade center website. For university assistants professors who are reading this message and still wondering where to fill-in their grades: do not look in the folder "grade center" but in the folder "staff info". It cost me 2 telephone calls to discover that grades should be reported in "staff info" (stupid me who thought "staff info" would contain information for the staff).
Anyway, the results are poor. It is frightening to see the level of the 1st year students, seen that the examination was really easy. It is also frightening to experience how much rights the students have inside the actual education system in the Netherlands: students are allowed to come to an exam as many times they want (some of my students tried it for the 4th or 5th time!). No wonder there where 410 students inscribed whereas only 60 followed the course! There are 2 exams a year but if less than 40% of the students pass the exam, there should be an extra examination in that year... Together with my boss, we agreed that we didn't want any extra examination, so I had to find a way to get more than 40% success. As many (I should say all) failed exercise 2 (there were 3 exercices in total), I generously calculated that if a student had 2/3 of the answers correct he or she would get the highest mark (10/10). With this system, 46% of the students got a "sufficient" (or higher) for the examination...

But at least, now, I am free to do  bit of research for a change, yeah!

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
T
I heartily appreciate you for the post you have shared and I really like it. The visitors really owe you for the efforts you make here. Thanks
D
After read blog topic's related post now I feel my research is almost completed. happy to see that.Thanks to share this brilliant matter.
Publicité