Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
Claire's stories
11 septembre 2008

See you

I live close to a church, and around the corner there are some shops: an estate agent, a butcher that sells tasty sandwiches (according to the queue at noon), a hobby-shop where you find papers, pens, pencils, paint, plenty of things for handicraft, a gloomy black window display, with a huge picture of three childrens heads. Those kids look so serious, and the colours of the picture have slightly faded away so that it seems they are waiting for their turn to the butcher, but not expecting sandwiches. [let me add that the butcher shop is not gloomy at all, on the contrary, it is a clean, well-running business, and I love the smell of roasting chicken when I pass it].
In between those shops there is another one which until recently, according to the window display, was selling dust and spiderwebs. That business was not too sucessfull. So my neighbours and I were curious the day the shop door stood open, radio music was on, light was shinning and some guys in blue overalls were hammering on plumbings. A couple of weeks later, we discovered, a bit disapointed, that the new shop was selling urns, coffins and marble funeral stones.  "I was expecting something more interresting" said one of my neighbours. "Yeah, well, they are just in front of the church. Where else can they get better clients?" I replied.
I don't like the shop either. It is too clean (not in the hygienic sense, but in this "it should be perfectly organized"-way, too symmetric, too acute-angled). The persons inside look more like selling expensive modern art items than bringing a bit of comfort to people in distress.
But what baffles me is the small poster on their window: a beautiful, young, smiling lady with the text "See you" on top. That really keeps me pensive.

canopes

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
Publicité