Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
Claire's stories
4 novembre 2008

first class

Delft, foggy, not too cold

timetable: 10:45-12:30 : first lesson of the course dynamics, 200 first-years (actually about 100 showed-up), and I was doing the show. Cool. Everything went fine.
It just looked a bit stupid when the cord of my microphone got entangled with some wires attached to the desk. I was stepping with a decided pace to the blackboard to show the beauties of the cosinus and sinus relations when suddenly the microphone pulled me back to the desk ("merde!"). The laughs were not too discreet. The cord was so entangled that it took me a good minute to get it free, which also raised the level of the laughs. I felt like a dog attached to a kennel. But keeping good spirits, everything went fine, and I managed to release the students on time (my biggest fear, I didn't know if I timed my talk correctly).
Anyway, it gave me good feelings for the coming lessons. Thursday and friday are the "werkcollegen" (exercises)... abbreviated WC in dutch! (why does noone else but me see the joke at work when "WC" is mentionned?). Tomorrow I have to brief the student-assistants about the thursday and fridays WC's. And I should get a move on preparing the course for next week...

Newton

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
Publicité