Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
Claire's stories
23 juin 2008

The E conspiracy

It began in Norway. When I arrived, I got a computer and an email adress where my first name was misspelled "Clair" without the final e. I didn't bother for the computer name, but asked that my email was changed to avoid confusion. I didn't blame Norwegian either, since my exotic name is carried by less than 100 people in whole Norway.
However, when I came back to Holland, a strange epidemy started. Noone seemed to recall how to spell my name (I never had this problem in Leiden). Not my landlord. Not my boss. Not my colleagues. Even when I send an email carrefully signed "Claire", I get a "Dear Clair" as answer! (and believe me it didn't happen only once). I couldn't find how many Claires there are in Holland, but to give you an idea: my neighbour is also called Claire. We discussed our first names once and we agreed it is not a common name in Holland but it is not rare.
As a result, I started to introduce myself to new people as "ClaiRE" (insisting unconsciously on the final RE)... which had as consequence that my colleagues spotted the joke and nowadays call me ClaiREEEUX in a very 'Allo 'Allo - way...

the_best_of_allo_allo

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
Publicité